Integrating Technology in Your Classroom - Carr's Favorites

Compiled by Sherah B. Carr, Ph.D.

Prior Knowledge Check – http://padlet.com/wall/dt0e23biem

Interactive Corkboards or Bulletin Boards
Wallwisher - http://wallwisher.com
Wallwisher - content example - http://www.wallwisher.com/wall/deserts
Corkboard Me - http://corkboard.me
Popplet - http://popplet.com/
GroupZap- http://groupzap.com

Interactive Whiteboards
Smartboard www.smarttech.com 
Kindergarten Smartboard Demo - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1NzL1NYi3Y8
Promethean  http://www.prometheanworld.com/
Mimio - http://www.mimio.dymo.com

Document Cameras – Elmo http://www.elmousa.com/applications-education.php
Ideas for Using Document Cameras - http://www.edtechnetwork.com/document_cameras.html

Electronic Micoscopes http://store.digiblue.com/QX5_Computer_Microscope_for_PC_p/db12013.htm

Skype - video calls - http://www.skype.com
Virtual Tours - http://www.theteachersguide.com/virtualtours.html

Photos - http://www.pics4learning.com/
American Memory – historical pictures - http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html

What are Web 2.0 Tools? - Web 2.0 Guru

https://web20guru.wikispaces.com/Web+2.0+Resources?f=print

Web 2.0 Teaching Tools - http://www.web2teachingtools.com/index.html
Voki - make avatars - http://voki.com
Blabberize - http://www.blabberize.com
Museum Box cubes- http://museumbox.e2bn.org/
Prezi presentation tool- http://prezi.com
Glogster Online Posters - http://glogster.com
Educational site- http://edu.glogster.com/

PowerPoint
Pete's PowerPoint Station - http://pppst.com/
PowerPoint Ideas from Vicki Blackwell http://www.vickiblackwell.com/ppttemplates.html
PowerPoint Presentations for K-5 http://www.graves.k12.ky.us/powerpoints/elementary/
PowerPoint Games - http://jc-schools.net/tutorials/Ppt-games/
PP Games - http://teach.fcps.net/trt14/Power Point Games/power_point_games.htm

Review Games
Flash Card Games - http://www.flashcardmachine.com
Quiz hub  - http://quizhub.com/quiz/quizhub.cfm

Teacher Tools – like Name Randomizer – http://www.classtools.net
Timer Tools - http://www.online-stopwatch.com/
Team Formation Tools – Team Maker  - http://chir.ag/projects/team-maker/
Tools for Teachers - http://www.toolsforeducators.com/   (puzzles, cubes, bingo cards, etc.)

Bookmarking - Delicious - Free with Yahoo account - http://www.delicious.com

Spreadsheets http://www.amphi.com/~psteffen/excel.html
Math Manipulatives - National Library of Virtual Manipulative - http://nlvm.usu.edu/

Literacy
Wordle.net - create awesome word clouds - http://wordle.net
Using Wordle in Classroom  - http://joedale.typepad.com/integrating_ict_into_the_/2009/09/using-wordle-in-the-classroom.html
Taxegdo - word clouding for older students  - http://www.tagxedo.com/
Image Chef - cool word mosaics - http://www.imagechef.com/ic/word_mosaic/
Starfall - Learn-to-read website for young children  http://www.starfall.com/
Word Wall Strategies http://olc.spsd.sk.ca/DE/PD/instr/strats/wordwall/
Word Wall Resource Page  http://www.educationworld.com/a_lesson/lesson/lesson328b.shtml
Dinah Zike Foldables - http://www.dinah.com
I Have-Who Has Cards (Loop Cards) - http://www.senteacher.org/Worksheet/46/Loopcards.xhtml   

Painting
Artist's Toolkit - See and create visuals elements http://artsconnected.org/toolkit/index.html
Imagination Cubed - Free Online Painting Tool  http://www.imaginationcubed.com/
Tux Paint - free painting software for kids - http://www.tuxpaint.org/
OdoSketch - drawing and painting tool - http://sketch.odopod.com/
KidPix in Curriculum http://www.teachers.ash.org.au/jmresources/kidpix/kidpix.html
Kid Pix Lessons http://www.edzone.net/~mwestern/KidPix/KPS.html

Graphic Organizers
Gliffy – Webs or Concepts Maps or Floor Plans - http://www.gliffy.com/
Brainstorm Webs - Bubbl.us
Text-to-Mind Map - Online concept mapping tool http://www.text2mindmap.com/
EdHelper Graphic Organizers  - http://www.edhelper.com/teachers/graphic_organizers.htm
Eduscapes - Learning Resources: Graphic Organizers  http://eduscapes.com/tap/topic73.htm
Freelogy – Graphic organizers http://freeology.com/graphicorgs/index.php
Kidspiration - Graphic Organizer Maker for Kids - http://www.inspiration.com/Examples/Kidspiration

Timeliner Tools - http://www.teach-nology.com/web_tools/materials/timelines/
Timeglider - http://www.timeglider.com

Videos & Songs
Animoto -video producing tool - http://animoto.com/
ZamZar Video tool to help you play video in the format you select - http://zamzar.com
Teacher Tube – www.teachertube.com
Money Song - Search Teacher Tube for video title money_song
BrainPop - http://www.brainpop.com/
Songs – www.songsforteaching.com 
Raps – www.educationalrap.com
Hip-Hop - http://flocabulary.com/  This one costs $ - you can test out with free trial subscription

Activating, Summarizing and Cognitive Strategies -http://its.guilford.k12.nc.us/act/strategies/

Wiki Creator Tools
WikiSpaces - http://www.wikispaces.com
PBWorks - http://www.pbworks.com

Web Quests
Bernie Dodge WebQuests - http://webquest.org/search/
Teacher WebQuests - http://www.teacherweb.com/tweb/WebQuests.aspx
Tarantula Web Quest - http://www.cityofportsmouth.com/school/dondero/msm/spider/tarindex.html

APA Info from Medicine Hat College -http://www.teachingwithpurpose.com/apa_style_guide_6th_ed_oct09.pdf

BONUS - Early Childhood Links from Tiffany
www.activityvillage.co.uk

www.positivelyautism.com

http://www.dltk-kids.com/

www.filefolderfun.com

http://www.first-school.ws/

www.sparklebox.co.uk

www.sparklebox2.co.uk


Why Use Technology –A Vision of K-12 Students Today
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_A-ZVCjfWf8&feature=player_embedded#!